Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | November 22, 2011

My 100th Post and I’m Feeling a Little Random Again

Today is my 100th Post!  In celebration, I thought I would post 100 random things, then I thought again and went with 5.

Recently my daughter Dena was suffering from an extreme case of vertigo.  She was so sick that she could barely lift her head off the pillow, much less drive.  She is also four months pregnant, which complicated the matter.  She called and I picked up her and her three kids and off we went to the OB for a check-up.  While Dena was in the exam room, six-year-old Ella announced that she had to go potty.  She went in the Ladies Room and was gone a little on the long side.  She came out with one of the little plastic “sample” cups in her hand.  She had written her name on it and was taking a sip.  It totally freaked me out and I instinctively grabbed her hand and said, “What are you doing?”  Poor Ella was just having a drink of water.  She doesn’t read that well yet, but I’m sure she got the idea that you were supposed to write your name on a cup and what else would you do with it?

Among my favorite things are 5” x 8” yellow pads.  I use them constantly but I never know where the one is that I used last.  When I cleaned the house yesterday I found seven of them.  They all contain vital information and lists of things to be done.  I am not getting these things done because I can never find my lists; that’s why I make new ones.  This afternoon I will be consolidating my yellow pads into three groups – TO DO; Blogging/Writing; Christmas Lists.  Since I am in the habit of moving my work station around I need to designate a place to call home for my family of yellow pads.  I have a desk – maybe that would be a good place.

One morning Bob was spreading cream cheese on a bagel and it wasn’t cooperating.  We love to quote that line from Mr. Mom, so I said “You’re doing it wrong.”  He gave me that look, so I had to tell him, “Relax, we all have different gifting – apparently spreading cream cheese just isn’t one of yours.”  I know I shouldn’t rejoice at his struggle, but if you knew how well he does so many things, you would understand.

Speaking of Bob, I am very thankful for him.  He’s a wonderful husband and takes such good care of me.  When we travel I don’t have to think about a thing.  I let this go too far on Friday though.  We arrived at the airport and I was following him as we both pulled our suitcases up the escalator.  It was noisy so I couldn’t hear what he was saying, but I quickly figured it out as we rounded the corner and I followed him into the Men’s Room.

This plate with the image of Yul Brynner from The King and I hangs in my in-law’s house.  I don’t remember it being there years ago, but it’s there now.  They have a lot of art work in their home, but I find this piece an interesting addition to their essentially Scan decor.

Enjoy your Thanksgiving.  Remember to give thanks while eating your turkey, potatoes, pies, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.  Bob and I will be celebrating with our kids, grandkids and my parents.  I will not do a second post this week as I figure you’ll be too busy to read it anyway.  Happy Thanksgiving!

Responses

  1. Bonnie, I guess you will not be surprised to know Aaron gave mom the plate with Yul Brenner on it. They have accumulated quite a variety. I also have lists everywhere. I take 8 1/2 x 11 paper, fold it in half, and have every kind of list you can imagine. Today do, art projects, house projects, It is delightful to find one and realize it has been completed. Have a great Thanksgiving.

    • Ha, ha. That adds up. I have a yellow pad in front of me right now making my shopping list for Thanksgiving. Enjoy yours and we’ll see you next week.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Bonnie! I’ll never use the restroom in a doctor’s office without thinking of Ella’s story! :-) Priceless!

    • She keeps me laughing. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. That was a brilliantly funny post – loved each one! Who knew the Yul Brynner collectible market was heating up again….

    • Thanks, Tor. It’s amazing what you find when someone has lived for 53 years in the same house. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

