Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | March 31, 2011

It Was a Dark and Stormy Morning

 

 

Spoiler Alert – This entry starts out with me in the dark and ends with the lights finally coming on.  (I think there’s a metaphor in there somewhere.)

My Thursday morning schedule was set.  I was excited that I took the time to lay out my writing priorities yesterday and maybe even work a good six to eight hours today.  Bob set off to work and I was preparing to get up and get going when I heard it – the familiar screeching of our computer power supply that comes when we lose our electricity.

The house was dark and quiet. The normal sounds that most people don’t even notice were very noticeably missing – the hum of the refrigerator, the clicking of the thermostat on the wall as the AC cycles on and off, the gentle whir of the ceiling fans.  But the sound I missed the most was that of the coffee maker doing its part to launch me into my day.

By 9:00 I knew for the safety of myself and others, I had to have some coffee so I braved the elements and headed out in search of lights.  I passed several neighborhoods before I found even a glimmer of hope.  Then I saw it, that lovely golden hue arching across the dark horizon – McDonalds had power!

Over an hour later I was still in the dark but was starting to see more clearly.  Your eyes do adjust to your situation and your ability to function improves when you stop fighting your circumstances and make the best of them.  That’s when once again I realized that God wanted me to see beyond my circumstances.  I was beginning to see what He was trying to illuminate for me.  A hindrance does not have to stop you.

I had no sooner written the first two paragraphs when the lights literally came on, but by then I was working.  Hooray!  I hadn’t wasted all three hours of darkness (only one of them).  That’s progress for me.  How about you?  What is God trying to show you?  Maybe it’s time to focus the best you can through your situation and look for that light that only He can provide.

Responses

  1. And here I am again reading your post. I must not have enough to do. Only kidding! Dad and I have been busy running errands, going to doctors, setting appointments etc. I am proud to say, this morning we read from psalms and revelation. I have been reading Don Bashams book about deliverance and it is a little scary, so we decided to read God’s word instead. Look forward to a visit from you soon. God Bless you as you press on.


Leave a Reply

Categories

