Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 5, 2011

Reflections from The Fourth

As I sit here at the end of the day I’m reflecting on how thankful I am for our country.  I’m grateful for the brave men and women who risked everything to form our great nation and to those who have continued to stand firm and defend it.

Today my family celebrated our nation’s birthday in our typical style.  We took part in our neighborhood bike parade, grilled hotdogs and watched fireworks.  There were 17 of us with ages ranging from almost 2 to 88 – four generations.  My dad fought in WWII.  I loved seeing him and my mom sitting by the curb watching their kids, grandkids and great grandkids in the parade.  No one in our family cherishes our country like he does – after all, he fought to protect it.  Thanks, Dad.  Thanks to Bob’s dad, who also fought in that war.

A few noteworthy occurences from our day:

I bought some jacks and played them with my granddaughters this afternoon.  They can’t quite grasp the flow of tossing the ball up and scooping up jacks.  They are pretty sure that I have it all wrong and showed me their way – bounce the ball and grab jacks with both hands, never mind where the ball lands.  It is much faster but lacks the finesse of the original method.

We ate popsicles and watched fireworks and let the grandchildren play with fire (sparklers).  Nobody got burned, though our grandson Jett did singe his shirt slightly.  This may be the first Fourth of July where I did not observe somebody getting burned from a sparkler!

As we were walking back to our house after the fireworks, my eight-year-old granddaughter came up and asked me to carry her chair (in addition to mine).  I used my best old person voice and said, “You’d really ask your poor, old grandmother to carry your chair?”

She replied, “Grandmom, you’re not poor.”  So, there you go.  Out of the mouth of babes.  Happy Birthday America!

Responses

  1. And you’re not OLD either. Remember that isn’t until we hit the “evening of life.” 🙂

  2. Arn’t children wonderful. Thank you for that lovely blog and sharing a little bit of your life with us. xx

    • Thanks for stopping again, Gina. I enjoyed looking at your blog posts this afternoon. I love your creativity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

