Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 10, 2011

Pet Week

Yesterday I was checking Facebook and came across this on the status of a couple of my friends:

If you have a dog who has made you laugh, brightened your life and every day, silently accepted your tears without judgment, snuggled with you, forgiven your faults and loved you unconditionally – make this your status. Dogs are a gift most of us don’t deserve. Re-post this if you share your life with an amazing dog/dogs.

Moving, sweet – I almost cried and thought I needed to post my own version of my memories of our dogs.  So here’s what I posted.

If you ever had a dog who chewed up your furniture, cost you hundreds of dollars in vet bills, threw up every time you put him in the car and gave you fleas, repost this as your status.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like animals.  We have had pets since the first year of our marriage (1975).  Three years ago we had to say goodbye to our dog and our last cat within weeks of each other.  It was very difficult as they had been part of our family for over 16 years each.  But the last few years with them were not the ones we took a lot of pictures of and are what prompted my husband and me to make a “No More Pet Pact.”  We are determined to stand firm on this pact and have a signed copy with our attorney just in case one of us weakens.  There are severe penalties for breaking the pact (you don’t want to know).

So I am declaring this Pet Week on my blog.  Each day I’ll be bringing you a heart-warming story of life with our pets.  At the end of the week, you will more fully understand why we created the “Pact;” in fact, you may want a copy for yourself.

Responses

  1. Oh Boy! I look forward to your reminiscing – I think it may help me in grieving the loss of my sweet kitty. You’re right though, I don’t have any pictures of him once he started declining. I only want to remember him when he was at his best.

    • It’s so hard to lose your pets. I know how sad you are about Wizzer. I’m sorry. Hope I can make you smile this week.

  2. […] let me assure you that I am not.  Besides, according to the No More Pet Pact of 2011, (click here to read about this on my former blog), a pet is not an option.  On-going training of the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

