Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 12, 2011

Buddy, Part Two

After Buddy’s failed attempt at accidental suicide (see yesterday’s post – Buddy is our bird), Bob and I decided to move to Florida. We thought the warm weather would do him good, and we figured as long as we were there, Bob would go back to school full-time to finish his degree. The lengths we go to for our pets!

In August of 1976, just after we celebrated our first anniversary, we packed up and moved to Orlando (which is an interesting story in itself, but we’re focusing on Buddy right now, so don’t get me started). After a few weeks we finally settled in a lovely apartment where Bob, Buddy and I could set up housekeeping. Buddy seemed happy and healthy, though he didn’t care for the fact that he was home alone all day while I worked and Bob went to school. Life is tough sometimes. When we were home, Buddy had the run, I mean fly of the house. He liked to perch on Bob’s shoulder while he studied. When we left he was confined to his cage.

My parents used to raise Budgies. So when I came home from work one day and found Buddy lying on the bottom of his cage I called them immediately. Dad had me check his breathing; it was shallow but there. “He’s probably had a stroke. You need to give him some whiskey,” Dad said. “Just a little in an eyedropper.” This provided a two-part dilemma – I figured I could improvise the eyedropper, but I wasn’t even old enough to buy whiskey.  (Not to mention why would Dad assume I had the stuff on hand?)  

Can you guessed what I did? Yep, I ran next door to our neighbor who, of course, I did not know yet. (When will I learn to meet neighbors early?) I pounded on the door and when the man answered I blurted out, “Hi, I’m your neighbor. My bird has had a stroke. Do you have any whiskey?” I have no idea what he was thinking, but again I must have been convincing enough to warrant his help. He provided the whiskey and I poured a few drops down little, lifeless Buddy’s throat. He perked right up! Amazing! It’s funny how God provides what you need when you need it – neighbors who don’t question crazy requests and my Dad with his whiskey prescription included.

Responses

  1. Yet another lovely blog. That really made me laugh. Thank you bonnie xx

    • Oh, thank you for letting me know. It’s very much appreciated.

  2. Haha! The funniest part is this makes perfect sense coming from you! You crack me up – thanks!

  3. God obviously wanted that bird dead.

    • Ouch, Joe. Buddy did live a while longer after the stroke. I tried to find a picture of him, but they are probably all in slides (if there are any).


Leave a Reply

Categories

