Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 22, 2011

Captain America – Coming to a Roof Near You?

What I am about to “report” is hear-say.  In other words, I hear, therefore, I say.  Perhaps this is the greatest part of being a humor blogger.  I love that literary license.  This report comes from 900 miles north of where I am sitting this morning.  It comes from our Nation’s Capitol, almost.

Just a little to the southeast in the Maryland countryside exists a home.  This is my father-in-law’s home.  He has lived there for over fifty years.  He knows everybody, even Captain America.  I know Captain America has been very busy lately, what with the movie debuting today and all, but he still managed to find time to help out Dad.  I mean, isn’t that really what it’s all about?  My father-in-law is an octogenarian and I find it refreshing that a superhero is looking out for him.

The issue here is the roof.  Dad needed a new one.  We hoped he would get quotes and references, but I’m sure that all didn’t happen once Captain America came on the scene.  Even with our encouragement to do so, how could we argue with him?  If you can’t trust Captain America to re-roof your house, then what is the world coming to?

To keep the neighborhood from being in an uproar, he wisely did his work as his alter-ego.  I am thankful for this, as I would not want villans descending on the house to take their revenge on Captain America – my father-in-law could have been collateral damage.  So, thanks for a job well done (I hope).  It’s nice to know you’re there when you’re needed.

Photo Credit: AP Photo/Cliff Owen

Responses

  1. I’m going to file this under WTH?
    🙂

    http://www.ametarot.blogspot.com

    • That’s as good a place as any. That could be the title for the folder we have about my father-in-law. I’ll be blogging more about him soon.

  2. I don’t know if most people will understand that this is real. … This is real.

    • You are right – you have seen life up there. I don’t write fiction, it just sounds that way. The only license that I took was that I wasn’t positive that he worked on the roof in his street clothes! Thanks, Joe.

  3. As a Maryland resident and big Captain America fan – great post!!! Glad to have found you on the UBC! Have a blessed weekend!

    • Thanks, Tor. I was born and raised in MD and still have lots of family up there. We’ve been in Orlando since 1976.

  4. You got me on this one Bonnie! I have no idea what I just read?!&#* twice
    moggie

    • Okay, Moggie. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad. Bob’s dad knows this guy. We’ll call him Jim because that’s his name. He impersonates Captain America at the Tea Party events in DC and, apparently, does handyman stuff. He replaced Dad’s roof. We met him at Bob’s mom’s funeral back in January.

  5. Love it Bonnie. I fancied a guy that worked in a car showroom a few years ago and he’d played a bit of a trick on me, so I dressed up as Batman and ran round his car showroom ducking and diving in between the cars with all his customers wondering what was going on. It was easter so I ran/flew up to him and placed a chickens egg in his hand and flew off again. It was the most exhilerating i’d ever done. unfortunately it got caught on camera and was sent to all the other showrooms. Still no one knew it was me lol x

    • Wow, Gina. You are risking it all coming clean here, but your secret is safe with me. What a great story. I’ll bet what you did was the best advertising they ever had.


Leave a Reply

Categories

