Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 23, 2011

You Might be a Blog Topic

It’s Day #23 of the Ultimate Blog Challenge and my friends and family are on guard.  We have had people cancel plans with us or just avoid us altogether.  I may be paranoid, but I’ve heard whisperings like, “Be careful what you say, you might be the topic of her next post.”  Really, now?  I would never abuse my relationships.  But I suppose I should come with a warning at this point, so here goes.  “Things you say or do may be used as the subject of my next blog (only in the best of taste, of course).”  So with that in mind, I’ve come up with the following to assist my family and friends with just how they should behave around me, just in case they’re wondering.  Avoid these things (and so many more) and we can hang out together again without fear.

I’ll start out with something that happened to me this morning, if it or something similar happens to you, don’t tell me or, you know…  I woke up at 7:30 and thought we were having an earthquake.  We don’t have an earthquake plan because WE LIVE IN ORLANDO.  I did google seismic activity in Orlando and surprisingly, there was none, but this is the kind of stuff that might be a blog topic.

If you’re obsessed with a donut that you didn’t get to eat and it’s been over a week, you might be a blog topic.

If you can’t play jacks as well as my five-year-old granddaughter, you might be a blog topic.

If you divulge to me your most embarrassing moment, you might be a blog topic (as long as you don’t know mine).

If the sweet ninety-year-old man you take lunch to every day thinks you are his girlfriend instead of his daughter-in-law, you might be a blog topic.

If you go to the grocery store to pick out dark chocolate and discover that this job is too much for you, you might be a blog topic.

If you confess to me that not only can you not cook, but you blew up rice in your microwave, you might be a blog topic.

Actually, if you are my husband, family or friends, you might be a blog topic.  Thanks for loving me.

Responses

  1. Thanks for starting my day out with a laugh, Bonnie!

    OH – this is soooooo true!

    It’s funny how the brain works when you’ve committed to write about something – anything – everything for 31 days! (this has been a first for me) I go to sleep thinking about possible topics, and I wake with that still on my brain! (our poor husbands/kids/family – lol)

    • Lori, you have hit the nail on the head. I was just telling Bob (my husband) that this is taking up too much brain space, though I am having a great time. I’m dreaming about it. This is a first for me, too. I only started blogging in March. By the way, I love your blog. I think I subscribed to it, but I’ll have to double check to be sure. My brain is getting a little fuzzy by now!

  2. Hang in there girls! You’re both doing such an amazing job! And I LOVE both of your posts. Bonnie – I have one question – it sounds like all those “you might be” scenarios could be one family in particular…am I right? If so, go for it. They love the publicity! 🙂 As for me I have to cancel our dinner plans tonight! hee hee.

    • Not all one family, but you can probably figure it out. Thanks for the idea!

    • So many ideas, Debi…

  3. HEY! Come on now… I’m sure I could master the jacks if my kids would give me a turn! 🙂 I’m sure it comes down to the fact that my mom didn’t play with me enough when I was a kid or something!

    • It is always the mom’s fault, but you just “outed” yourself here. If you want to come over and play jacks with me sometime, we’ll arrange for some lessons for you. You can handle a basketball well, so jacks should be a piece of cake.

    • You know you just “outed” youself. I will take the blame though. If you want to come over for a jacks lesson, we’ll arrange it. You can handle a basketball, so you should pick it up quickly.

  4. Bonnie, you have my permission to make me a blog topic. 🙂

    Love you! Glad you’re having fun! ❤

    • Oh my, Colleen! I have been thinking about you this week and even tried to call you on Tuesday, but I have an old number. It was Tuesday and you came to mind and I just thought about all those Tuesdays we spent together. Such sweet times. Love you, too.

  5. I’m glad you forgot my disease of forgetfulness.

    • Thanks for the reminder! I appear to have caught the disease myself.

  6. I didn’t blow up the rice but squashes do make such a mess of the microwave if not enough holes in them!

    • I hate when I make a mess in the microwave because so often as soon after I remove what’s in there, I forget about the mess until the next time and then it’s stuck on. Thanks for sharing messes!

  7. I sent you a FB msg with my number. 😉

    • Got it. We’ll talk soon (hopefully). Love you.

  8. Regarding your “You Might be a Blog Topic”…. Quoted from the wicked witch of the west….”I’ll get you my pretty”!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

