Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 24, 2011

Thankfulness and Joy

Time to be a little on the serious side today.  We’re coming down the home stretch of this crazy, fun blogging challenge, so I thought I should make sure I am remembering why I started this blog.  I need to stay focused.  It’s hard.  There are so many distractions.  I started this blog because that is what I felt that God was directing me to do.  I don’t mean for that to sound weird.  It’s not.  As a Christian I want to do what he wants me to do.  So especially at this point in my life where my schedule is not pre-set with raising children, I needed to get some new direction.

I am troubled by the set of buzz words circling around me that aren’t too encouraging to hear.  Words like crisis, war, depression, unemployment, rough economic times, murky future, and so many more pepper newscasts, headlines and conversation.  While we don’t stick our heads in the sand, where does our hope come from?  I believe it is from Jesus.  The joy of the Lord is our strength.  God is constantly showing me how funny life is and I want to encourage others to see that side of life.  Adjust the focus.  I want people to stop a minute and laugh or have their heart warmed.

This morning at church I was greeted by several people who read my blog and they had encouragement for me.  How wonderful is that – I’m trying to encourage and in the process receive encouragement.  So thanks to Darla who I didn’t even know reads this but took the time to tell me.  Thanks to John for being such a good sport about his picture being in yesterday’s edition and told his sister to check it out.  Thanks to my old friend Debbie who greeted me with a hug and said, “I’m so glad we’re friends, though I’m a little relieved that we aren’t hanging around together too much right now!”

And, thanks to the new friends that I am making, like Gina.  You are a natural encourager and I’m thankful for our new friendship.  I am blessed beyond measure.  How about you?  Do you see all the blessings around you?  There is so much to be thankful for.

My grandson, Jett, trying to focus on something important (just before he broke the binoculars)

Responses

  1. I am thankful to have YOU for my friend, Bonnie. I love sharing this experience with you. Thank you for taking the challenge to blog all month. I am thrilled most of all that others are getting to enjoy your humor who might have never had the chance to laugh in person with you. Your laughter is a gift. And you are using it for our encouragement and God’s pleasure. I think you make Him smile – who knows – maybe he laughs along with you. Or He could shake His head in unbelief like Bob does from time to time. In either case you are who God made you to be. Thank you for being my friend.
    I love you bunches,
    Debi

    • Okay, Debi, now you’ve made me cry. I too am so thankful for the experiences we get to share and for your friendship – there are no words (not good for a writer, huh). Love you and thank God for having you as my friend.

  2. Oh my goodness Bonnie, How surprised was I to find my name in your Post today. That was a compliment indeed. You too are a natural encourager, I’m thrilled to have made a connection with you across the sea. The internet can be a complete pain sometimes, but for those of us that would never have met otherwise I’m so grateful. Thank you for being my friend.xx
    Love the fact Jett has the binoculars upside down. I love the way children look at things xx

    • If the only thing I got out of the challenge was making your acquaintance, it would be a success. Thanks for your encouragement, my friend.

  3. You’re welcome, Bonnie, and thank YOU!! Keep writing! As someone who can take myself (and life) too seriously sometimes, I am thankful for the regular chuckles I have been getting from your blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

