Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 27, 2011

NFL Lockout Ends and Boy am I Thrilled

When I heard the news Monday that the NFL lockout was over, I gave a little shout for joy.  I’m sure that there is no one out there in all of football fandom who is happier than I am.  I asked Bob, “Is it true?  Please tell me that the lockout is really over.”  He was mystified and a little excited that I was taking such a great interest.  To me it’s not just about the game, it’s about the rewards of the game, specifically a 3 1/2 foot tall trophy that Bob brought home when he was the winner of last year’s Fantasy Football League, which is headed by my oldest son, a.k.a. “The Commish.”

We had to add another room onto our home just to house this monster (not really).  The Commish wanted to make sure that whoever won would have a tangible reminder of what a great coach they were.  So this year I expect The Commish to gather the teams once again.  They’ll have their draft and be totally immersed in another football season.  I really hope my son wins this year so that he and his wife can enjoy the trophy at their house.  I’ll be rooting for Bob to come in second.

Responses

  1. Good luck to Bob in his FFL, and as a lifelong Steelers fan – I’m breathing easier as well!

    • Thanks, Tor. It could have been a long, long Fall, though I seriously doubted that they would not get their acts together and play.


Leave a Reply

Categories

