Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | August 12, 2011

Dancing Dogs and Other Fun Things

Summer is almost over (not including the 95 degree weather and incredible humidity) so I planned a fun day with my daughters and the grandkids.  We met at the movie theater for their summer kid program to watch Marmaduke.  You can’t beat a dollar a ticket and my movie purse stuffed with goodies including drinks.  (Reminder, set appointment with chiropractor due to carrying too much of a load in my purse.)

Best part of the movie:  Watching my four-year-old grandson laughing hysterically as Marmaduke escaped from his bath and dragged his drenched owner around.

Worst part of the movie (spoiler alert):  Trying to reassure my panic-striken five-year-old granddaughter that Marmaduke would not be lost in the rushing water when a water main broke and he was swept into an aqueduct.

Most interesting part of the movie:  Afterward when on the ride home my eight-year-old granddaughter asked me how Marmaduke and the other dogs danced at the end of the movie.  This dance was a stage full of dogs, something worthy of considering for a new reality dance show.  I started to explain computer generated movements to her (entertaining in itself).  She kept saying, “No, Grandmom, they were really dancing.  Don’t you remember earlier in the movie when the dogs were dancing to a video game?”  It was so adorable.  She really believed they were dancing on their own and she was amazed.

I love the wonder of a child to delight in something without thinking it was rigged.  I love the questions and not tolerating an answer that would ruin her belief in what she saw.  I love the innocence.  I’m going to hold on to that for a while because I know it is fleeting.  I’m going to hold on to it because I want to capture a little of it for myself and be more amazed and dazzled by the world around me that God has created.

Our day didn’t stop there.  The afternoon was dedicated to play.  The kids played together and my daughters and I played our favorite game, The Settlers of Catan.  Today I have been cleaning my quiet house, but I can tell they’ve been here.  Here’s a list of some of the evidence I found:

  1. Legos under the couch.
  2. Paper cuttings everywhere in the kitchen from a project the girls launched into after their Uncle Scott gave them boxes to play with.
  3. Rubber duckies lined up in a row on the edge of the bathtub.
  4. Pinocchio stuffed inside of Jonah’s whale’s mouth.  We have Bible action figures including Jonah and the whale.  We have a Pinocchio puppet on a string.  The boys are always stuffing something in the whale’s mouth.  I have found matchbox cars, blocks, little Fisher Price people and My Little Ponies, to name a few.  This poor whale has been through a lot.
  5. Face marks on my french doors.  My youngest grandson could spend hours just making marks on glass.
  6. Half of a plastic Easter egg.  I don’t know where that has been hiding since spring.
  7. A bunch of little dolls with all their clothes stuffed into a toy car.  Why do they always take their clothes off?

The highlight of the day was a new way of keeping the kids still, as provided by their Uncle Scott.  Why didn’t I think of this years ago?

Responses

  1. Sounds like an awesome day, Bonnie! And the peace & quiet afterwards – the time to reflect – just as valuable. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • It was, Lori. There’s something about vacuuming that always gets my mind going – maybe it’s the white noise.

  2. Dogs are amazing (well, not mine); we know a lady who’s chi’ can play “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” on the piano.

    Mine do have super-hearing, though. Doesn’t matter where they are, inside, outside, in the pool, if I open the refrigerator, they come a’runnin’.

    • I’ll bet when you open your refrigerator Ben comes running, too. He’s hit that age.

  3. I’ll have to get acouple pair for Liam and Joel, I can say that here cause Joy doesn’t read this …..I hope !!! moggie

    • I was amazed at how they loved to be constrained with those cuffs. Unfortunately they kept cuffing me, too. Fun day.

  4. This sounds like a perfectly exhausting day that ends with a smile on your face. I’m in the middle of the exhausting part, but sure I’ll have plenty of smiles next week when the craziness is only a memory.
    Debi aka “Nana”

    • There’s not many things that are so exhausting and wonderful at the same time as grandchildren. Hope you can get some rest tonight.

  5. Hi Bonnie, A movie for a buck is the best and I love the comments and questions young kids come up with. Sounds like a great time!

    • Yes, it was a great time and totally snake free!


Leave a Reply

Categories

