Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | August 23, 2011

May I Quote You?

When our kids were young they were childish.  I don’t hold that against them – it was part of their job description so it was expected just like you expect fire to be hot or the grocery line that you get in to move slower than all the rest.  They majored in having fun.  They were all good students, but they really excelled in memorizing all things unrelated to schooling.  They could quote like the wind.

I recall driving car pool and trying to encourage such activities as going over vocabulary words, but they were too busy quoting movies or TV shows.  Their ability to retain quotes verbatim astounded me.  And they did it all the live long day.  On more than one occasion in an effort to retain my sanity (failed effort, that is) I had to forbid them to quote for the entirety of the ride, which I discovered was impossible.  I don’t
think they were blatantly disobedient; it’s just that quotes oozed out like a melted malted.

The saddest part of this is that as my kids matured I immatured (if that’s even a word).  Yes, I’m a quoter.  I’m not a particularly good quoter, but I am a quoter.  For the most part I try to restrain myself but when I’m around my kids, it’s useless.  Bob also suffers from this disorder, though to a lesser degree.  (One of us has to remain dignified.)  On our recent vacation we got to talking about this malady. Vacation time is when quoting is at its peak.  I think the reason for this is that when we are away I cannot help but think about my family and the fun of raising our four kids with my husband. So I’ve come up with a list of quotes that generally surface during our vacation and I threw in some that pop up through life.  See if you can name the movies or television shows where they originated.  This can be a travel game for you (you’re welcome).  The winner will get extreme satisfaction and feel a little like a failure all at the same time.  Here we go.  I’ll start out with one I use on every plane ride.  Without fail at some point on our ride I’ll lean over to Bob and say this.  I strive to do this every trip because I know how disappointed Bob would be if I forgot.

  1. “There’s something on the wing.  Some…thing…on the wing.”
  2. “or perhaps you don’t want to see the second largest ball of twine on the face of the earth, which is only four short hours away?”
  3. “Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads.”
  4. “Roll ‘em up!”
  5. “I thought the Rocky Mountains would be a lot rockier.”
  6. “Cow!”
  7. “Surely you can’t be serious.”  “I am serious and don’t call me Shirley.”  For this one if I give the first line I need someone to come to my rescue with the response. I will wait for it, wait for it. The idea here is don’t leave me hanging.
  8. “So you’re telling me there’s a chance.”
  9. “That’s north to pick up and south to drop off, moron.”
  10. “Up here, I’m already gone.”

I will reveal the sources of these quotes in my post this Thursday.  Meanwhile, I’d love to hear from you and see who can identify the most quotes.  Also, as an added bonus, hidden in this post are a couple of extra variations on movie quotes.  Can you find them?  What quotes would you add to the list?

Responses

  1. 1- William Shatner- “The Twilight Zone”
    2-
    3- “Back to the future”
    4-
    5-
    6- “Rat Race”
    7- “Airplane” of course!
    8- An absolute classic- “Dumb & Dumber”
    9- Mr. mom- although I don’t think I ever saw this one all the way through!
    10-

    I can’t believe I don’t know the other ones- I must need to spend more time with you guys! My quoters have already started. My 2 year old quotes from Night at the museum regularly! I’m surprised that you didn’t have a quote from Nat. Lampoons Christmas Vacation. Now that’s the gift that just keeps on giving, Clark!

    Oh and “Melted Malted”… name that movie! “Throw Momma From The Train”

    You’re right, Mom, we really did have a quality education, didn’t we. I figure we were just exposed to such a fabulous depth of cinema that you were just preparing us to win some game sow or something of the like one day!

  2. Considering the fact that you and Bob’s sense of humor is out there, sssssssooooooooooo different than me and Michael,——-we don’t have a clue what you are talking about!!!!! But if “THIS” keeps your sanity———-well God bless you both!!!! The only thing remotely familiar is the “Twilight Zone with William Shatner” Nightmare at 20000 feet. The rest must be related to that “stupid vacation movie with the ridiculously stupid comedian.”and that’s a quote from Michael.Oh this IS fun!!
    mike and Moggie

  3. Well, I’m ashamed to say that I only know the source of 3 or 4 of these. Regarding #9, I can probably give you lots of quotes from Mr. Mom. I love that movie!

  4. These are great! We quote all the time too, but ours are limited. Here’s a few:
    “You’re going the wrong way…you’re going to KILL someone.”
    “You are nothing but a suit!”
    “You just stay here…”

    Thanks for this fun post, Bonnie. Love it!

  5. Adding to Dena:
    2- Michael, the angel movie.
    4. not a clue.
    5. Only because my kids drove me nuts with Dumb and Dumber (not the true story of our Congresspersons).
    10. I don’t think that’s a movie- I believe that was Seinfeld’s tv nemesis- Kramer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

