Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | August 30, 2011

Do Not Bend

What do these things have in common?  A Splenda packet, a cooling rack, shower gel, a dry erase marker, a chip clip, my phone charger and a fork.  This is a partial list of the things that I have dropped over the last few days.  I must drop a lot of things in the course of a day and I imagine you do, too.  The thing is, you don’t notice it when you can bend over and pick up what has been dropped.

On Tuesday of last week I had Mohs’ microscopic surgery for removal of basal cell skin cancer on my forehead.  It went well, but I have to be careful about a few things.  Some of these are easy like don’t get my heart rate up (a great excuse not to exercise).  Others are more challenging like sleep propped up and do not bend.  Last night Bob got me out of the house and we picked up a few things at the grocery store and an Italian dinner from our favorite local restaurant.  We sat down in the living room to watch a movie and eat our dinner when I realized that I needed to cut up my salad.  I went into the kitchen to get a knife and found none in the drawer.  This meant that I could not get a knife without bending because I had to get one out of the dishwasher which had not been emptied because, you guessed it, I cannot bend.  So I went off on some idiotic, immature rant about how frustrating it is not to be able to bend over and get a stupid knife.  Thankfully it was a short tirade and after a couple of minutes I was able to ask Bob to forgive me for my angry, ungrateful outburst and we went on with our evening.

It’s hard for me to admit how in one short moment I lost sight of how good God has been to me to give me such an uneventful healing process and to give me a husband who is taking care of me and friends who have brought us meals to lighten our load.  This is uglier than my wound, which I cover so others don’t have to be disgusted by it.  My anger is disgusting.  I’m so thankful for how Jesus has covered and forgiven my sin.  And I’m thankful for Bob who puts up with a lot.

So back to my situation – my house has become littered with little pieces of debris that amazingly nobody else sees or is bothered by.  The upside is that I realize that I do a few things around here and I like doing them and look forward to doing them again.  The hard part is that I’m home a lot until Tuesday (today) when I see my doctor again.  I feel good enough to go out, but frankly I can’t stand the attention and the need to explain how I look over and over again.  You see, I have an allergy to adhesive so I cannot just put a normal bandage over my wound.  Instead I am sporting a turban.  I must say I was the envy of the other Mohs’ patients in the waiting room as they sat with their gauze pads and tape and I had my nifty, worthy of Liz Taylor turban.  I am special, just like Mom always said!

Here is a picture of me when I got angry the other day.  Notice the wrap-around bandage.  It’s a bit cooler than the turban.

Responses

  1. Let me know how the appt. goes today. I hope your healing is around the bend and includes the bend. 🙂

  2. Girl, you needed a Snickers! Love you & talk to you soon.

    • I settled for a bag of peanut M&Ms. Went in today and I’m allowed to bend now. Hooray! No exercise or lifting for 2 weeks, but who wants to exercise? Love you, too.

  3. I can so relate … having been 9+ months pregnant not that many months ago when just about anything other than waddling & didn’t work. It’s so frustrating! I am also one who struggles to ask for help & gets angry and when it boils over my poor husband is usually the recipient. It sounds like we’ve both been blessed with very understanding & caring husbands! I am glad you can once again bend over!

    • Oh, yes, Lisa. I remember those days. My daughter is expecting her fourth child and just reminded me that I’ll be able to bend when she won’t. It is silly to struggle with asking for help when you think about it. My husband has never given me any indication that he is anything but willing and ready to help. That old self sufficiency once again. God uses these things, doesn’t he. Thanks for sharing with me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

