Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | September 23, 2011

Hoping for a Happy Fall (An Urgent Post)

It’s a bird, it’s a plane, no – it’s a 13,000 pound Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite.  I always wonder about coincidences, but this one is especially disconcerting.  Today is the First Day of Fall, or maybe we should stick with calling it Autumn this year.  Today is also the day that the aforementioned satellite is due to plummet to earth – this afternoon to be more precise.  It is supposed to break up as it re-enters the Earth’s atmosphere, but still it could be a good day to listen if you hear someone shout “The sky is falling!”

NASA reminds us that the earth is 75 percent water, so what are the odds?  Well, the odds are 1 in 3,200 that you or I will be hit by a chunk.  Yes, I’m telling you there’s a chance.  So, Happy Fall, I mean Autumn!

Also, in case you’re interested, I have now been blogging for six months.  That’s a milestone for me.  If you haven’t subscribed to my blog yet, what are you waiting for?  I’d be happy to drop my new posts right into your e-mail inbox.  Subscribe today (Journey with Me) – go ahead, it’s easy!

Responses

  1. I’ve heard people who procrastinate say, “I’m looking for a sign – something to fall out of the sky even!” well, to all who may put off following Bonnie’s oh-so-funny blog, beware! You may just get that sign.
    Great post, Bonnie, and I’m proud to be one of your very first “fallowers!”

    • Thanks, Debi. I think about you everytime I blog. It’s so much fun to have things like this in common.

  2. I’ll keep an eye out for falling satellite bits!

    • Good idea, Melinda. You can’t be too careful! Thanks for commenting.

  3. Ah, Bonnie!

    I start to smile as soon as I see one of your blog posts in my inbox – I just KNOW you’re going to make me chuckle (or loudly guffaw), then reflect. Congrats on your 6 month labor – you’re blessing me greatly.

    • Thank you so much, Lori. I so appreciate you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

