Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | September 27, 2011

I Don’t Know How She Does It

I like going to the movies, but lately I am becoming more and more annoyed every time I go.  It’s not the high price of a ticket or the outrageous cost of concessions, it’s the pretty young lady they show on the screen as part of AMC’s endorsement of itself.  (We’re already here, so I don’t get it.)  I’m sure you’ve seen her.  She wants you to buy popcorn and drinks.  I call her Zombie AMC Girl.  It looks like she is worshipping at the AMC altar.   At first she’s down among her friends, but she ignores them.

Then she is pulled into the screen by some kind of invisible tractor beam.  Somehow she gets transfigured in front of our very eyes.

Finally she ends up sitting way above us all (I’m sure that’s a metaphor) in her row of seats that is equipped with some kind of hydraulic vine.

Well I’m sick of her.  This has been going on for years.  I don’t understand why she bothers me so much, but she does.  If you go to the movies with us you will see.  You could ask Bob, but he has taken to going to get our popcorn before she graces the screen and left me muttering to whoever is sitting on my right (Bob always sits on my left).  I’m sure if I could just talk to the AMC people about it, I could get them to see my point of view, but they are not answering my calls.

As if all that wasn’t enough to upset me, on our last movie outing we went to see I Don’t Know How She Does It.  The title was perfect for the movie because as we left Bob asked me, “How does she keep getting us to go to her movies?”

Of course I replied, “I don’t know how she does it.”  So there you go.  Bob and I have made a new pact not to go to anymore of her movies.  I’m sure she’s a wonderful person, but I don’t think we can continue in our relationship with her.  She acts like she doesn’t know we’re alive anyway.  So now Bob and I have another pact to go with our No More Pets Pact.  It feels right.

If you missed it, here’s the link for the first post of a Pet Week that I did in July.  It explains the No More Pet Pact.  https://shipboundfortarshish.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/pet-week/

Responses

  1. Yea, the “read more” link worked. And I clicked over to get my morning laugh. 🙂 We enjoyed last night so much. Thanks for being such good friends. We love you!!

    • Thank you! We love spending time with you guys. Thanks for the tutorial, too.

  2. Bonnie – pure genius! Your “hydraulic vine” remark made me spew decaf coffee all over my keyboard!


Leave a Reply

Categories

