Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | September 29, 2011

Things That Go Tap In the Night

I was awakened very early this morning by my husband standing at our bedroom window doing some kind of strange semaphore routine with our blinds.  He had been awakened by a strange tapping on our bedroom window, so despite how it looked, he was defending and protecting our household.  I am thankful for this, even though it woke me up before the sun came up – you take the good with the bad.  As it turns out, there was something trying to invade our house.  Something horrifying to me.  Something that makes me scream with terror.

Yes, an invasive exotic species was trying to get in our home.  It had made it through the screen and was throwing itself at the window trying to break through.  Thankfully, it did not.  Reluctantly I got close enough to take a picture; I hope it’s not too graphic for you.

This is a Cuban Tree Frog.  They have made their way up the Florida Peninsula and, like some of the more famous non-native slithery species down here, are gobbling up everything in sight including our native tree frogs.  These bad boys can get to be the size of your hand and are a nuisance.  They are advanced jumpers and you never know when they’ll drop in for a visit, like when you’re relaxing in your hot tub (a particularly disturbing event).

The problem is so big down here that the advice is to kill the invaders.  It’s the froggy version of border control – only a little on the violent side.  The recommended method is freezing.  So we keep a supply of Ziploc baggies around and whenever we see one of these pests that is within reach, Bob snatches it up, zips it closed and throws it in the freezer.  At least he used to when we had a deep freeze until one day when I was getting meat out for dinner I accidentally snatched one out of freezer.  Boy was I surprised!  Needless to say it was an easy thing to get Bob to take me out to dinner that night.

Responses

  1. Bonnie, what a delightfully told tale! And very informative as well!

    • Thank you, Dena. It’s especially true because I am frogophobic. I know it doesn’t make sense, but I don’t like things that jump around. By the way, my daughter’s name is Dena, too. Love the name.

  2. I got a laugh out of the way you told the tale, but I know the underlying problem of invasive species isn’t funny. Glad you got to go out to dinner, though!

    • Thank you, Melinda. I am so creeped out by frogs so that makes it all the worse. But, like you said, glad to go out to dinner,

  3. I don’t mind frogs, but I would hate to have them jump on me when I’m in the hot tub! I’m battling big ugly spiders who come into the house when it starts getting cold out. Yuck! It’s always something.


Leave a Reply

Categories

