Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | October 7, 2011

A Kindred Spirit

Crane’s Roost Park (Photo Credit: marriott.com)

Bob and I were out on a date a couple of nights ago.  We were walking along Crane’s Roost Lake and we overheard just a little bit of a conversation between a man and, I’m presuming, his wife.  The man asked with just a hint of desperation in his voice, “So, have you tried typing in Word yet?”

I didn’t hear her response, but I did see the look on her face.  I’ve had that look.  I have to fight to keep that look away.  It’s the look that inadvertently pops out on my face when Bob asks me if I’ve backed up my files or if I downloaded a message from church onto a disk or if I’ve defragged my computer.  You know, rhetorical questions.

Suddenly I had a new friend, yet I was not in a position to let her know.  Bob and I were in the middle of our walk and my new friend had suddenly picked up her pace.  I wanted to call after her, “Wait,” I would say, “I understand.”  But that quickly she was gone.  Gone, but not forgotten – that’s how it is with a kindred spirit.

Responses

  1. very nice. see, it’s not that hard to squeeze out a blog a day. I’m not going to pressure myself, but I may be picking up the pace once i get to maryland. I’ll be enjoying your entries, no matter what.

    • You’re right. Somehow these little guys wear me out though. I’ve been up with them since 6 and would rather nap then anything else while they sleep this afternoon. You’ll have your own charge next week, but I think he sleeps more than these two.


Leave a Reply

Categories

