Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | October 17, 2011

Fly Your Flag With Care

Being patriotic has its trials.  I’m not trying to compare the following story with those who put their lives on the line to defend our country.  I just want to fly our flag.  This afternoon I went out front to unfurl our flag.  I don’t know how it keeps getting furled, but it does.  (I also think I will start trying to work the word furl into conversation.  I have never heard anyone use it.  Everyone wants to unfurl, but nobody seems to furl.  Interesting.)  Anyway, I take a long pole and just unwind the flag.  After today, I see that I am going to have to get a longer pole (maybe an eleven foot one for all those things that I wouldn’t even touch with a ten foot pole).  Inside the flag I discovered not one but two huge Cuban tree frogs.  I know, here she goes again with the frogs.  After a round or two, one huge frog plopped down right in front of me.  All I want is our flag waving in the breeze free of frogs, but it appears that is too much to ask.

I know frogs pee a lot, too.  I do not want frog pee on my flag.  Once again frogs are causing me to change the way I do things.  I don’t like it.  Is it the Cuban thing?  Does this have anything to do with Gitmo?  I don’t know.  All I know is two big Cuban tree frogs have been cavorting in my flag and it’s just not right.  It’s not right at all.

Responses

  1. Bonnie here is an interesting thought…. when you say cavorting , do you mean “cavorting” the English that you as former rebllious colonials is diff to that that we native born speakers of the tongue….my frogs cavort, and indeed writhe in my back yard ( we say garden) wildlife pond, but it is fair to say that they only do so once a year, altho that once tends to last about 10 days, usually in March , and then in due course following the cavorting spawn is release… so maybe you will know whether there has been any “cavorting” when you find ever more froglets furled in old glory…

    The Cuban thing is interesting maybe it is a covert take over, but then again it might just be climate change….

    I noted that flying the flag is much more widespread over there than over here, except when out spots teams are playing important games or matches…when cars tend to sprout union flgs from the window.
    Flying the Union Flag from homes is fraught with problems , usually of a planning nature.

    Note that we fly the Union Flag and not as usually thought ( erroneously) the Union Jack….. the Jack bit of that name is actually the staff or pole from which the Union Flag is flown on a ship esp a naval vessel..

    I would have thought that you need a much taller falg pole than a mere 11 foot….Go for it Bonnie, acquire a big one……here is a final thought or two…. maybe the cuban tree frogs are mistaking your furled flag on the flagpole for a tree..
    if there was no evidence of procreational cavorting, perhaps they were just doing a Salsa or some other such island terpsichory.
    blesssings

    Roger

    • Roger, Your comments are a highlight of my day. I did mean the rebellious colonial version of the word cavort. I try to keep a family atmosphere here! Though I must admit I double checked the definition of the word before I used it. Bob has brought the flag in for now, just in case the frogs were doing the British version of cavorting. It would have been too much for my timid heart to unfurl an entire frog family.

  2. Maybe there will be a new uprising – The Bay of Frogs. It could happen.

    • It is happening! Right here in our neighborhood.

  3. I’m trying not to chuckle at this predicament – it’s like a mini-version of the Egyptian plague of frogs from Exodus.

    • I’m so glad God gave us humor. If I had been there during the plague of the frogs, I don’t think I’d have made it. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Bonnie – I think you’d go a little zappo at my place.

    We have a swamp on our 5 acres (halfway between the house and the river) and in the spring you can’t talk outside to be heard because of the sound of all the frogs.

    They do, however, support the circle of life: the frogs eat the mosquitoes, the snakes eat the frogs, the cats hunt & kill the snakes, and the cats just laze on my deck.

    (You could always try a few snakes to eat the frogs… No? Maybe not.)

    • You’re right, Lori, I probably would. I have come to tolerate the snakes more for the reasons you stated. I have seen fewer snakes around here this year and it makes me wonder if the frogs have ganged up on them. Thank you for commenting.

  5. Loved your post. Here we get lizards and the occasional scorpion in wrapped up things. I always, always, unwrap with care.

    • Thanks! Yes, unwrap with care has become my new motto.

  6. Oh the frogs! Much problems in your neighborhood with them! 🙂

    • I know. I’m a little nervous about opening the chimney flue this year. I’ll have Dad do it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

