Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | October 20, 2011

Do Angels Still Fall? (contest)

Yesterday I introduced you to Rob Swanson and told you a little about his new book, Do Angels Still Fall?  This post completes that story and is also part of the contest to win a copy of the book.  If you missed yesterday’s post, there’s a link at the bottom of this one (Meet my Friend, Rob).

Today I’m going to give you a little glimpse at our Writers’ Group so you can see the impact that Rob has had on my life and the life of our writing community in our little part of the world.  Rob is the Leader of the Pack (vroom, vroom).  He brings insight, education and inspiration to us during our monthly meetings.

I have been part of this group for somewhere in the neighborhood of ten years.  (By the way, it meets in my neighborhood, which is very handy.)  At that time the group was larger and included novelists, poets, journalists and screen play writers.  I can’t remember why I joined, but it probably had something to do with the fact that I like to write (duh!).  I had been friends through our church with Debi Walter of The Romantic Vineyard fame, and I’m pretty sure she was influential in my going.  She and I worked on our church’s yearly Christmas program which at that time was called a Bash.  Her part was always a wonderful musical that summed up our church year.  My part was poking fun at church life and the members of our church with parodies and various skits.  Both Debi and I would write and direct and we had a blast.  Several of Rob’s plays were used by Debi.

One of my early skits was a parody of The Andy Griffith Show.  I paralleled life in Mayberry with life at church.  These are some of my favorite memories.  We laughed like crazy and worked very hard.  I cast Rob as Gomer Pyle.  His background of theater was such a plus.  Here is where I first came to know what an encourager Rob is.  He would have been much better suited to direct, but he humbly looked to me.  He was invaluable and even made me feel like I knew what I was doing.

As far as being a regular part of the Writers’ Group was concerned, I was very intimidated by all the real writers.  I didn’t know what a protagonist was and I didn’t know genre from Jean Paul.  I remember asking the college student sitting next to me to spell genre for me.  That’s how lost I was.  After several months of finding excuses to avoid attending the meetings, I finally found myself looking forward to them.

Over the years the group’s dynamic has changed greatly.  Now we have a core of four people, Rob, Debi and me, along with Leslie Santamaria who is a very talented children’s book writer and editor.  There are several people who come now and then, as happened back in January when one such person came to the group and lit a fire under us, especially me.  That is what prompted the start of this blog.  So you see how God puts people in your life for his purpose and your good.  I am grateful for this group of people.

Last weekend Bob and I went away with some friends.  One of them picked up our Kindle and ended up taking it home with her to finish Do Angels Still Fall? she couldn’t put it down.  When you are looking for that kind of reading experience combined with thought-provoking dialog, you need look no further than this book.  This blog post is the last in the contest, so here are the rules once again.  Thank you for participating and for helping to get the word out about this fine book.  Remember that the book is available at Amazon in soft back or electronic versions.

Contest Rules:

  1. The contest began with yesterday’s post and continues through this post.
  2. Comment on either or both posts and receive 1 entry per comment (max of 2 entries).
  3. Share on FB and receive 1 entry (max of 2).  You must mention doing this in your comment.
  4. Retweet and receive 1 entry (max of 2).  You must mention doing this in your comment.
  5. Contest ends at midnight on Sunday, October 23.  No accumulation of points after that time.
  6. Anyone related to me is not eligible to win, but you are encouraged to share on FB or twitter.  The winner will be determined by a random drawing and announced in my blog on Monday, October 24.
Responses

  1. Great testimony on Rob!! I add my amen to the amazing gift Rob has been to us. I’m not entering the contest because I already bought it! I can’t wait to finish it – well sort of. This is the type of book you can’t put down, but when you reach the end you’re sad the story is over. Thanks Bonnie for saying publically what I’ve always wanted to say. Where would we be without Rob?
    Blessings,
    Debi

  2. We need a bash revival!!! What fun times they were. (I still have them every day with you).

    • Thank you, Sweetheart! I miss the Bash times, too, but life with you makes up for it. (Even though right now I’m picturing you as Floyd the barber.)

  3. Thank you for this post, Bonnie. I have had an off again, on again affair with writing since I was a little girl. Even though I have been encourage to take the leap and get published, I never felt I was good enough to be a “real writer”. Sometimes the only way we know is to have the courage to just go for it. I’m so glad you have Rob in your corner and am looking forward to his book. God bless.

    • You are so welcome, and thank you for your comment. This puts another entry in the contest for you. God bless you, too, and happy writing.

  4. Another wonderful post. I loved the The Andy Griffith Show and Mayberry. It seemed to stand for what was good in the U.S. But I know that the book has got to be a good one. Thank you for your post.

    • Thank you, Randall. This gives you another entry to win the book. Good luck!

  5. Angels sounds interesting! I would love to read it myself and someday share it with my grandsons! i would be very happy to put it on my Facebook page but I don’t know exactly how? ok I’ll try harder.I do know how to copy and paste.Rod sounds like a fun person to have as a friend!
    Moggie

  6. OK I found a little FB doober to push and there it went. Moggie

    • Thanks for commenting and you now have 2 entries in the contest to win the book. I’m glad you were able to figure out the FB sharey thing doober!


Leave a Reply

Categories

