Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | October 25, 2011

Shopping for ALF

I love shopping.  I’m the kind of shopper that takes it as a challenge.  My husband notes that I’ll look in Store #1, shop through the next 23, return to #1 and purchase the item.  I don’t know why he would say such a thing.  It’s not that it’s not true, oh it’s true.  But he shouldn’t say it.

Now I am shopping for something I never thought I would ever have to shop for.  I’m shopping for an assisted living place for my father-in-law.  He will be here on Friday along with Bob’s two sisters and I am doing the foot work for him to have some choices.  My husband has been looking, too, but I just have more time than he does and as we all agree, I do love to shop (I never thought that would backfire on me).

Bob came home from work one day and said, “There is a group home near us that might be right for Dad.  It’s a lovely, large home surrounded by cottages and there are lots of trees around it.  The best part is that it is only a mile from us.  They call it “ALF” though, and I’m not sure why they would name the place after that old TV character.”

I replied, “I’m not sure either, but it’s probably one of two reasons.  First the owner may love the furry character and play reruns of ALF for the residents.  Or it may be that ALF is short for Assisted Living Facility.”

To make Bob feel better, I told him I was pretty sure it was the first reason.  I’m so glad Bob has a great sense of humor (a requirement for our marriage).

ALF (Alien Life Form)

Responses

  1. As always, a great post written with a powerful core message that’s wrapped in fun. Prayers that you all find the right fit for your father-in-law.

    As an aside, I have to agree with your husband that men and women are hard wired differently when it comes to purchasing decisions. In fact, I’ve documented that difference in this video link below:

    http://torconsblog.blogspot.com/2011/05/my-first-movie-men-buywomen-shop.html

    • Thank you, Tor. And thank you for your prayers to find the right fit. I know God goes before and that is such a comfort. Also, I re-watched your blister and loved it again. I shared to fb for others to enjoy. Would love to see you do more of these, though I know they must be pretty time intensive. How about one about making Christmas lists husband vs wife style?

  2. OMG, you show LOL when it comes to the ALF! You sound like a wonderful wife!

    • Thank you, Beth. That is so encouraging. I am blessed to be in a marriage where we love and support each other.

  3. ALF…hee hee, haven’t thought of that flashback from the past for a while!

    • Thanks for commenting, Melyssa. I’ve been visiting quite a few ALFs this week and now they are a flashahead to the future!

  4. I think Bob’s way of looking at is more fun…

    Now imagine a sit-com with ALF in an assisted living facility! Might go over well in about 10 years with the baby-boomers.

    • Ha, ha, Lori. I think you might be on to something. I really think that would be funny!

  5. I love this one!! And yes, I know you love to shop, but this one def. backfired on you!

    • Thanks, Debi. I’m so worn out from seeing all those old folks having fun. I ran into Judy today during a sing along. She looks great.

  6. Oh, Bonnie, what a difficult thing to do. It sounds like you are the one for the job, though. And it will be wonderful to have your father-in-law nearby. I wish you all the best and feel confident that you will find a good fit. ~Suerae

    • You are so kind, Suerae. Thank you. You’re one of those people I wish I could meet. Maybe some day I’ll get to the great NE.

  7. So glad you are shopping. I read your post to Dad and he understood the ALF joke. (I was not that familiar with ALF the puppet) I’m intrigued by the place only 1 mile away. I’ve been realizing that Dad will be a lot happier if his CAT can come with him. I had to take pictures of Star, go to Rite Aid and print them out and purchase a frame. He wanted a picture of her to take with him on the trip. We packed his clothes today. I cleaned the car out. I’m 90% ready. His blood sugar has been up in the evening the last few days. I think it’s stress – and lots of goodbye cakes.

    • Glad he got the joke. I remember my mom watching that show, so maybe more their generation. I have 2 appointments set – one at 4:30 Friday and one at 12:30 Saturday. There is one yet to confirm for Sunday afternoon. I did the pop in at the place your friend suggested and did not like it at all. I have another friend whose mom is in a group home and I’ve gone with her to visit. I don’t think it’s a good fit for Dad. I will actually go in to the place a mile away tomorrow, but I’m not too hopeful that it will hold a candle to the other 2 appointments. Those places are amazing. By the time you get to Sanibel you will be the one to need the vacation. We appreciate you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

