Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | October 29, 2011

Potential Toys of the Warped Variety (just in time for the holidays)

For some reason I got to thinking about Barbie the other day. I remember when I was a little girl and getting out of the stage of playing with her. I really still wanted to, but I dared not let on to anyone that I did.  It was that strange pull between childhood and adolescence.  When my little sister Linda wanted me to play I’d make her promise not to tell anyone and then we’d have a great time playing. It’s difficult to say goodbye to childhood.

I started to think about a way to make the transition a little smoother, you know, keep kids being kids. I like seeing girls playing with dolls and boys playing with action figures for as long as they can.  I remember the first Christmas when my last child gave me a wish list with no toys on it.  I returned it and said, “Put a toy or two on there or else.”  He did too, after all, I can see him when he’s sleeping and make life miserable for him when he’s awake.

So with all that in mind I’ve come up with a new addition to the Barbie line. I’m sure Mattel will be excited about it.  How about Zombie Barbie?  What girl approaching adolescence wouldn’t be proud to play with an undead doll?  With all that has gone into having dolls be more and more lifelike, I think it might be time to have one that is undead-like.  And for boys, perhaps G.I. Joe, Vampire Hunter.

Disclaimer:  I do not promote or believe in zombies or vampires, but since half the world is all excited about them, why not make a buck.

Responses

  1. I guess you saw the new Barbie covered with Tatoos and piercings, and it inspired your blog today!
    moggie

    • I did this post a while ago before I saw that Barbie. I just never finished it last night as I had decided to save it for closer to Halloween.

  2. In a very warped way, I love the idea of zombie Barbie. You could also produce a handsome Vampire Ken. What a best seller Vampire Ken would be for fans of Twilight (which I am not). And then for boys, like you point out, Vampire Hunter G.I. Joe. (he could also guard regular human Barbies against zombies.) If you make these dolls, and get rich, please send me some good chocolate as thanks.

    • Ha ha, Alana. Well, I said it was warped toys! Thanks for commenting.

  3. Ah yes, I do remember being sworn to secrecy. Those were the days!

  4. I’m scared enough at Halloween, now I’ll have to watch out for my grandchildren’s Christmas toys. What is the world coming to?! LOL.

    • I know, Debi. If I ever really do see these things I won’t be too surprised.

  5. Your post reminded me of a song that my mother used to sing:

    (I think it was sung by Shirley Temple in one of her later movies.)

    I’M JUST AN IN BETWEEN

    I’M PASSED THE STAGE FOR DOLLS AND CARRIAGE
    I’M NOTTHE AGE TO THINK OF MARRIAGE
    I’M TO0 YOUNG FOR BOYS, TOO OLD FOR TOYS
    I’M JUST AN IN-BETWEEN

    MY DADDY PREACHES ON MY LACK OF GRAMMAR
    BUT WHAT BOTHERS ME, IS MY LACK OF GLAMOUR
    I’M TOO YOUNG FOR BOYS, TOO OLD FOR TOYS
    I’M JUST AN IN-BETWEEN

    I’LL BE GLAD WHEN MAMA LETS ME GO TO PARTIES
    I’LL BE GLAD TO WEAR A DRESS THAT TRAILS ON THE FLOOR
    A DRESS THAT BOYS WILL ADORE

    I’M SICK AND TIRED OF BEDTIME STORIES
    I’M ALL INSPIRED BY LOVE AND GLORIES
    I’M TOO YOUNG FOR BOYS, TOO OLD FOR TOYS
    I’, JUST AN IN-BETWEEN

    I’m afraid I was more like the girl in this song: wanting to grow up too fast. But I remember my paper dolls. (I still have them!) Elizabeth Taylor, The Lennon Sisters, Jane Powell, Cyd Charisse, Roy Rogers and Dale Evans
    Marilyn Monroe…..I was still playing with them when I was 14!

    BTW, Bonnie, I LOVE your blog!

    • Thank you, Carol. I can picture you and/or your mom singing this. I loved paper dolls, too, and I had the Lennon Sisters ones. Fun! (Don’t worry about the typos, I didn’t even notice them)

  6. Excuse the typos: Just want you to know that I know the difference between “past” and “passed”! (smile)

  7. Hi Bonnie!

    What do you think of an undead Troll? Or, were they already?

    Thanks for reminding me of the wonderful childhood times we enjoyed.

    Speaking of Barbie, I still have a basement full of them. My daughter is 14 but she’s not giving them away. I still want to play! lol. Trust me these dolls have a much better wardrobe then I will ever have, and think, our Barbie’s enjoyed just a few pieces and they were happy. Emily’s dolls have hundreds of items. Not to mention, Kit and Marisol, the American Girls!

    Hurray for paperdolls! Hours of enjoyment, may they never go away.

    I’d say it’s time for playtime.

    • I never considered if trolls were undead or not. Another deep subject to ponder. And you are right, times were simpler with Barbie having a limited wardrobe. Now she is multi-career and multi-ethnic. I don’t know how she does it. Thanks for checking out my blog. It is my playtime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

