Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | November 29, 2011

Day One of the Twelve Posts of Christmas

Did you go shopping on Black Friday?  I did and now I can no longer call it Black Friday.  It shall be called Fabulous Friday – a day of opportunities and sales and family and friends (new and old).

At around 11:30 I was in Target with my daughter Dena and daughter-in-law, Aubyron.  The three of us had separated for a bit and I found myself with full hands looking for the girls and the shopping cart.  I spotted a young man and presumably his father walking towards me.  The young man (we’ll call him Alex to make the story flow better) was wearing a T-shirt that said “NO PHOTOS PLEASE.”  I couldn’t resist.  I walked right up to him, stood eye to eye and said, “May I take your picture?”

Alex and his dad backed up a few steps and were speechless for several seconds.  Suddenly they both caught on and we all had a good laugh.  As they walked away Alex turned and gave me a thumbs up and said, “I’ll be telling people about this.”

When I found my daughters I dumped my loot in the cart and relayed the story to them.  They couldn’t believe I didn’t actually take his picture because by now, of course, my whole family thinks life is a blog entry for me (I don’t know why).  Sadly, with my hands full a picture wasn’t possible.

With my arms free and my shopping done, I had some time to roam the store while the girls finished up.  I started praying as I walked and asked God to please let me find Alex so I could take his picture for my blog.  Then I wandered the aisles stalking, I mean looking for him.  I never did find him there, but it certainly was not for lack of effort.

Aubyron dropped off from our group and Dena and I went to Toys R Us and Altamonte Mall to continue our shopping.  Around 1:45 we were in the food court; I looked over at Taco Bell and what to my wandering eyes should I view but Alex in line for a taco or two.  (Sorry, it’s just so easy to break out in verse this time of year.)

I threw my tray into Dena’s hands and rushed up to him and said, “Do you remember me from Target?”  He smiled and looked over at his cousin who was with him and said, “This is the lady I told you about from this morning.”  He was a delightful young gentleman and was happy to have his picture taken (see, you can’t always judge people from their outward appearance, even if it is spelled out in words).

You may think I’m crazy, but I know this was an answer to my prayer.  I marvel at how God likes to give us little gifts like this.  I think He likes to surprise us sometimes.  He sure got me good on Fabulous Friday.

Alex and me on Fabulous Friday

To sum up Twelve-Days-of-Christmas style:

For my first post of Christmas my True Love gave to me

A picture with a non-celebrity!

Thank you, Alex (yes it’s really his name) for being such a good sport and providing me with my first post of the Christmas Season.

Responses

  1. Alex looks like a celebrity 🙂

    • I know, Vanessa. It makes me wonder how many people stop and take his picture on a daily basis. Hope you are doing well. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Bonnie,

    I can so see you doing this. I’m sure Alex is thinking it was a pretty fabulous Friday as well. Love the posts…..keep it up.

    Miss you!!
    Ann

    • Thanks, Ann. He was such a nice guy. I miss you, too. As we step into December I am freshly aware that it’s been nearly a year since you moved. I can hardly believe it. Hope to get to see you before too much time passes.

  3. He just didn’t want you to give him one for a gift:-)!

    • Ha, ha! You might be right. It was so nice to meet such a nice young man.

  4. Read this with a siny-song voice…..
    LLLOOOVVVEEE IITT !

  5. Awww…what a sweet story! I think I recognize that guy from a poster at the post office…you maybe it’s you I recognize. Oh well~

    • I think it is me that you recognize. I do look familiar, don’t I?

  6. i loved it!!! you are hilarious. you made my day fabulous.

    • Thanks, Barbara. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  7. Woohoo! I made a blog entry and it was a beaut too! You’re posts always make me laugh. 😀

    • It was just a matter of time, Aubyron. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

