Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | December 6, 2011

We Checked Every Bulb, Didn’t We?

Christmastime involves lots of preparation to our house to provide a warm, inviting atmosphere for us and our family, especially since we live in Florida and have to trick people into thinking it’s cold outside.  This year even more so as we have family coming and lots of it.  Last week I spent three days getting the house ready for the first round of them.  Everything had to be done to perfection because I will not have another opportunity to decorate until January, which may be a little too late to put up the tree.  Perfection has a sliding scale and currently as far as our tree goes it means two-thirds of our tree lights work.  Since this is a pre-lit tree, we have decided to look on the bright side; that’s why I didn’t say one-third of our lights are out.

Three Days of Prep

Perfect also means that there are less lights strung on the outside of the house this year.  Bob blocked out three hours yesterday afternoon for this project.  You know how you have to test every strand?  He did and only put up working lights.  By last night two strands are now being used as long, dark extension cords.

A decorating essential for me is my moose for my front yard.  As I told my granddaughters, “It’s just not Christmas without a moose in my yard.”  I am fascinated by them.  I’ve seen two cows and a calf in the wild, but somehow the big bull moose has eluded me.  Where do those things hide?

I finished my task late Wednesday afternoon and by 9:00 that night, the first wave of folks arrived led by Bob’s dad.  From now until January 2 we will have seven nights without family visiting.  I guess you could say, “we’re kicking off our fun old fashion family Christmas.”

Four Calling Folks

For the Fourth Post of Christmas

My True Love gave to me

Four Calling Folks

Three Days of Prep

Two moving vans

And a picture with a non-celebrity

Yes, Virginia, Day 3 and Day 4 are combined in this post.  Also, I have two quotes from National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation in this post.  Did you notice them?

Leave a Reply

Categories

