Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | January 31, 2012

I’m Going to Take This Lying Down

I have a story to tell you that’s not too funny, but it left me in stitches.

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

Yesterday I had surgery on my shoulder to remove yet another basal cell skin cancer (my fourth).  My doctor is great and helps me put my problem in perspective.  As he puts it, “If you’re going to have skin cancer, this is the one to have.”  After reminiscing with him about how the last time he worked on me I didn’t enjoy the special effects of the spinning room, he had me lie down on the table.  The nurse went to work numbing the area.  After the first two shots I commented that the current one wasn’t hurting as badly and then all of a sudden it was like a hot needle shot through me and mid-sentence I said rather emphatically, “Whoa!”

The poor nurse nearly jumped out of her shoes, though I don’t think she wanted me to know that.  I apologized for my outburst; and she said, “I’m not going to lie to you, I did jump.”

“I’m not going to lie to you either,” I said.  “I know you did.”

Well, we both had a good laugh and then she finished numbing me.  My doctor has commented to me that he finds it unusual that I laugh during the procedures, but it is my mechanism to deal with pain or a situation that makes me nervous.  I’m thankful for it, too, as it lightens many situations.  (As I type this I’m wondering if my doc is considering using a general anesthesia if I ever need to have this done again.  He may want to be the sole “cut-up” in the room.)

Proverbs 17:22 – “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

As a side note, please be aware of skin changes on your body and see a dermatologist about anything you are even slightly concerned about.  The earlier a problem is found, the better off you will be.♥

Responses

  1. Oh I am NOT a fan of needles of any kind. The kind of cancer you have is what my hubby had. In fact I was the one who brought it up to the doctor. At that moment he told us, yes it has to be removed.
    I left the room.
    Truly one does not want me on the floor passed out. The only way I could take a shot was in delivery simply because there was no choice.
    My question always is: Can you give me an IV and knock me out?
    Just call me chicken.

    • Truly there is nobody here but us chickens. That is why I get to laughing, I guess. I never look at the needles as that would make me pass out. I would like laughing gas and then knock me out. Maybe we can ask for that next time. Thanks for stopping by Sharon – hope you are doing well.

  2. I hadn’t heard about this Bonnie. I guess we really are out of touch. Tomorrow I will see you, that is if you’re up for HG.

    • I sure am and I’m looking forward to it. See you at the Reels’ house tomorrow.

  3. I didn’t know either…yet you’re not one to talk about your problems too much. :0) I loved this post, it made me laugh…like they all do. :0)

  4. I pray you heal quickly and your circle of friends and family provide much laughter – but not the kind from pain and nervousness!

    Glad you’re back to sharing on your blog – I look forward to my morning chuckle.

    • Thank you, Lori. I am feeling great today – I just have to remember I have a shoulder full of stitches for a couple of weeks. It’s good to be back in the swing of things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

