Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | March 6, 2012

Meditations on Yogi

I don’t remember a lot about the summer of 1965, but I do remember it was when I saw the real Yogi Bear and a couple of Boo-Boos, too.  I was nine years old and our family was taking the typical cross-country camping trip that so many families of that day took.  We were driving in Yellowstone National Park (a.k.a. Jellystone) taking in all that the majestic park has to offer when we happened upon a peaceful scene – a large family had spread a feast upon a pic-a-nic table when out of the woods a bear and two cubs came lumbering.

It was a scene that is forever etched upon my memory as the family grabbed the cakes that were displayed so prominently and ran screaming to their car, leaving behind the main course for Yogi and company.  The bears did what bears do – climbed up on the table and chowed down.  They were in no hurry whatsoever; they owned the park.  Yes, at that time, there really was such thing as a free lunch (for bears anyway).

Ella

Fast forward to a conversation I had with Ella, my six-year-old granddaughter.  Ella and her sister and brother were telling us all about the movie, Yogi Bear.  They loved it, so when I told them the above story they were fascinated.

I explained to Ella that if her little brother Jett were a bear, he would almost be a grown-up bear.  If Mia, her older sister, were a bear, she would be a grandma bear.

“What would I be?” Ella asked.

“Well, you would be a grown-up bear.”  I replied.

And without a second’s hesitation she said matter-of-factly,  “And you’d be a dead bear, Grandmom.”

That’s Ella for you – she’s “smarter than the average bear.”

Responses

  1. Ah yes, out of the mouth of babes… 🙂

    (Looks like Ella has your tongue-in-cheek genius genes, Bonnie!)

    • She is my little kindred spirit. It’s so much fun being a grandma. And, thanks for the kind words.

  2. She’s also got a lot of her Grandmom’s humor! 🙂

    • What can I say – it’s true! She and I are alike in many ways. I love that sweet girlie.

  3. LOL !!!

  4. lol – nice story. Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

