Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | April 6, 2012

He is Risen

The last time we had Communion at church, six-year-old Ella was sitting next to me.  It was another one of those precious “Ella” moments.

“That’s not really blood.  It’s grape juice,” she said.

“That’s right, Ella.  It just stands for the blood of Jesus that He shed when He died on the cross.  He told us we’re supposed to celebrate communion as a way of remembering Him and all that He did for us until He comes back.”

“He’s coming back!?!  Will He come to my house?”  She was very excited.  We had a mini teaching moment right there to reinforce what her mom and dad had told her many times.  Maybe this will be the time that she gets it – the time that she’ll remember.  I know I’ll always remember it.  As I pondered this moment, I wrote a poem about Easter that I’ll be sharing with my grandkids on Sunday.  I thought I’d share it with you, too.  Happy Resurrection Day!

HE IS RISEN INDEED

Dresses pressed and clean

Shoes with a fresh sheen

Bunnies hopping silently

Chocolate eaten violently

Eggs hidden on the ground

Children running all around

Do these sights tell the story

Of our Lord rising up in glory

How did this come to be

The way we celebrate his victory

Over sin and death on a cruel cross

To save us sinners who were so lost.

While candy and eggs are lots of fun

The day is really about the One

Who died and rose and will come again

Jesus – my Savior, my Lord, my Friend.

 

 

Responses

  1. Nice poem Bonnie, and Ella is priceless. I hope you all have a lovely Easter xx

    • Thanks, Gina. I hope you do, too. I’m not involved in the challenge but glad to see you posting again. Grandchild #6 is due any day now so I’m on call.

  2. Wishing you and those you love a blessed Easter. Beautiful poem.

    (Just imagine what kind of book you’ll be able to put together after another 10 years of “Ella” stories!)

    • Thank you, Lori. Enjoy your family on this wonderful Easter weekend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

