Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | June 28, 2012

Thank you, Nora Ephron

I feel bad about my neck, but I feel sad about Nora Ephron passing away on Tuesday.  Over the years, her wit and view of life have unfolded before our eyes in print and on the screen.  I have laughed and cried and laughed again as she told stories that touched my life with warmth and humor.

When Sleepless in Seattle graced the big screen in 1993 I didn’t pay any attention to who directed it or who wrote it (she co-wrote it with her sister, Delia).  I just knew I loved it.  Back in the nineties you had to wait years before the movie was released on VHS or DVD (four years in this case), but I remember how happy I was to have my own copy.

Once I started paying attention to film credits, I came to realize that her movies are on my go-to list.  These are the movies that I own copies of and like to watch when I’m sick or on vacation – movies that I know so well they are like visiting an old friend, movies that include Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, Bewitched and Julie and Julia.

I also am a fan of her essays.  I love someone who points out what I am thinking and makes it funny.  That’s what she did in her book, I Feel Bad About My Neck and Other Thoughts on Being a Woman.  Yes, Nora, you are right.  A woman’s neck gives her age away.  Sadly though, the fact that I live in Florida means I cannot cover mine up with turtle necks and scarves.  Oh, I see women who do it, but when the thermometer is hovering at 90, and hot flashes are a regular part of life, I have to risk looking my age or else I’ll end up passing out from heat stroke.

Another book of hers that I love is….  What was the name of that one?  It’s right on the tip of my tongue.  Oh yeah, I Remember Nothing and Other Reflections.  The funny thing about this book is that I truly could never remember the name of it while reading it.  Maybe that’s because I read it from my Kindle and, therefore, never got to regularly look at the cover, I don’t know, but I know I related to it (if I remember right).

This quote from Nora seems to sum up how she lived her life:

“So, I’m very much a believer in knowing what it is that you love doing so you can do a great deal of it.” 

You brought us a great deal of happiness, so, Nora, thank you for your writing.  Thank you for your directing.  Thank you for all the laughs and tears.  You are inspirational.

I think I’ll be watching a Nora movie or two this weekend, how about you?  What’s your favorite Nora movie?

Responses

  1. i`id have to say Sleepless in Seattle….Wonderful post about a prolific talent. Thank you.

    • Thank you, Kate. I’d say Sleepless in Seattle is my favorite, too.

  2. Ah, you know my favorite…You’ve Got Mail. I hadn’t heard that she died. Now I’m sad. She will be missed.

    • I will never forget that You’ve Got Mail is your favorite – neither will 6 other people. Happy memories!

  3. Of course I love her classics but I gotta love “My Blue Heaven”. Totally silly and I don’t remember all the plot but I remember watching it growing up and laughing over Steve Martin teaching Rick Moranis how to Samba. 🙂

    • It’s funny you mentioned that movie. I didn’t realize that was one of hers. Dad really likes that movie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

