Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 1, 2012

I’m On Vacation (you don’t need a job for that)

We’re On Vacation!

WARNING:  I have decided to take part in the July Ultimate Blog Challenge.  That means that I will be posting 31 entries during the month.   I signed up at the last minute because my husband Bob and I are on a much needed vacation and I wasn’t sure if our destination was going to have free wifi, so I threw down a fleece – free wifi, I do the challenge – daily charge, I do not.  Well, I’m in and happy about it.

If you are new to my blog, you should know that it is most often based on observations or something that happens to me or those around me.  So with that in mind, I have asked my husband, family and friends to let their guard down during the month of July so that I will have an easier time coming up with funny blog topics.  They are usually very helpful, so we’ll see how this month goes.

Yes, Bob needed a vacation from his demanding job as a mechanical engineer and I needed a break from staying home not working.  When you are at home and you do not have a job, it can really be exhausting.  Bob is employed as an engineer and I am unemployed by choice.  A job for me just wouldn’t fit in our lives right now.  To be honest, I haven’t checked into an office outside of my home since 1979 when my first child was born.  My only recurring nightmare is the one where I have to go out and get a job.  I wake up screaming.

My last job before the kids were born was a teletype operator for the Social Security Administration.  I don’t think there’s much demand for that anymore.  If you are under 35 you may not even know what those words mean.  But, I’m getting off track.  It’s the end of the day and Bob was kind enough to help me with a little something humorous for my blog.  He’s great like that.

This morning we decided to go visit a church in the area.  It is part of the same group of churches that we belong to.  As we left the parking garage I pulled out my trusty I-phone and asked Bob if he needed me to get a route for him.  He assured me he did not.  It’s pretty bad when your reputation of being directionally impaired is so bad that your husband doesn’t even trust you with a gps.  Anyway, he’s trying to give me more chances, but I might have blown it this morning as we headed down the road.  He said he already knew we had to turn on Atlantic, so I asked him which way.

“Good question,” he replied without even batting an eye, “but really not.  If you go left you’ll end up in the ocean.”

I know you have to be thinking, what a smart aleck!  He can be – that’s one of the reasons I love him.

Responses

  1. Engineers can have a wicked sense of humor! (I’ve got 2 in my family and they often sneak it in.) Have a fabulous time on vacation.

    • You’re right, Kim. Of course we get to make fun of them, too, it works both ways. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Ha! I didn’t dare ask if you wanted to do the UNC this month, with all you’ve had going. Imagine the thrill when I read your post. Together again!

    • I wasn’t going to ask you either, though I wasn’t too surprised that you signed up. It is nice to be together!

  3. I think you’re both crazy … but I guess, if you don’t have a job, you might as well do something 🙂

    • We have never claimed that we aren’t both crazy (at least Bob has never claimed that). By the way, we enjoyed visiting the church here in Fort Lauderdale and were pleasantly surprised when Al Pino was the guest speaker on Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

