Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 2, 2012

The Saga of the Free Comic Book

A short time ago, in a town not-so far, far away….

National Comic

Book Day

The Story Begins

 A FREE COMIC BOOK

The date was May 5 and Acme Superstore in Longwood, Florida, was joining with others across the universe in celebration of this auspicious event.  They had quite the celebration planned – free comic books for everyone, an appearance by R2D2, Doctor Who and the TARDIS.

I informed my children of the event so they could take advantage of the freebees.  Our grandkids have joined us as fans of the Star Wars movies, so meeting R2 was right up there with sitting on Santa Claus’ lap (and a lot less risky).  My daughter-in-law and I planned to take her boys.  It all sounded great.  The plan was coming together.  Dena (my daughter) and her husband were going to go with their kids.  I would go with Dacia and my grandsons (age 4 and 5).  I was pretty excited to find something that the boys would like in the shopping realm.  But then I got the call, The Dark Side had claimed a shallow victory, one of the boys was sick.  Our outing was off.

Help me, Bob, you’re my only hope

In my hour of need I turned to Bob (he was my only hope).  I already had noticed his clothing choice for the day.  It was clear he was going to be tackling household projects.  By the time my plans changed he was in the middle of a lengthy TO DO List, so I approached him slowly.  (For those of you not married to an engineer, you may not know the risk I was taking.  The TO DO List for Bob is like the shopping spree is for me.  It sucks him in as he tears through the list, checking off things and feeling (it would appear) something akin to how the Rebel Alliance felt when they took out the death star – oh the satisfaction of a good day’s work.

“Honey, the boys are sick so I won’t be going to the comic book store with Dacia,” I said.

“You going to call Dena and go with them?”

“I already tried – no answer.”

“You’re still going to go, aren’t you?  You can get free comic books for the boys,” he offered while wiping the sweat from his brow and checking another item off of his list.

“I can’t go by myself,” I said.  “You don’t want me to look like some kind of pathetic loser, do you?”

Trying to get into the TARDIS of Doctor Who fame

So, with his mind swimming with come-backs for the obvious set-up I had provided him, my sweet husband put his list to the side, showered, and took me to the Comic Book Store where we could look like losers together.  I love that guy.

We had a good time.  I really am a cheap date!  Bob took my picture with R2D2 so we could show the boys and build up a visit in the near future when they were healthy again.  We picked up comic books for them and also tried to have the TARDIS (Time and Relative Dimension in Space, i.e. a time machine) send us ahead in time to the point where we could have an outing with them, but the door was locked, so alas it seemed as if our plan was truly foiled.  But was it?

Tune in tomorrow when the saga continues in

The Grandsons Strike Back

Responses

  1. Ah! Terry and Tori (the owners of ACME) are wonderful people! In my days as warehouse manager for Diamond Comics, they were among my favorite customers. Heck, I would have gone with you, (though my wife wouldn’t let me go alone with a beautiful woman, so maybe I wouldn’t have…) Look forward to hearing some more. 🙂

    • Aw, you are too kind. I don’t know the names of the people that I met there, but they were all very nice folks. Until tomorrow…


Leave a Reply

Categories

