Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 3, 2012

Part II of The Saga of the Free Comic Book – The Grandsons Strike Back

You may remember from yesterday that I had a failed attempt to take my grandsons to celebrate National Comic Book Day.  It seems the Dark Side had a victory when one of the boys became ill, but I would not give up on my effort to get them to the comic book store.

Two Happy Boys

Two weeks later, Bob and I had the boys for the weekend and at last made the journey to Acme Superstore.  When we walked in the door and their eyes beheld such things as The Silver Surfer gliding above racks and racks of comic books and Batman gazing their direction, they were, appropriately enough, like kids in a comic book store – so excited.  We let them pick out a comic book each and an action figure.  There are several aisles of action figures, but we knew Star Wars was the way to go.  Manning, who is five, picked out a droid, which he calls a robot.  Four-year-old Winston picked out a young Obi-Wan Kenobi who had two light sabers, which he calls swords.  They were two happy boys.

But alas, The Dark Side reared its ugly head again and by the time we returned home, Obi-Wan was nowhere to be seen.  We scoured the car for him and were fearful that his fate had been sealed at the last parking lot we visited.  Poor Obi-Wan.  Poor Winston.

Bedtime came and we knew that was prime time for the power of the Dark Side to come in the form of an unhappy little boy.  While Winston was in brushing his teeth, Manning told me how excited he was to put his new guy with his robot collection.  He loves robots and beamed as he held his new one in his hand.  When Winston came to bed, he was a little sad that Obi-Wan was no longer with us.  Manning without any hesitation gave his prized robot to his brother.  (Take that Evil Empire!)

As I fought back tears, Winston exclaimed, “Thank you, Manning.  Here, you can have my lantern (his choice for bedtime).”

This display of selfless brotherly love was an amazing thing to behold.  I was so privileged to get to witness it.  I felt like God had given me a little gift.  The next morning as we loaded the boys into the car to go to church, Manning found Obi-Wan on the floor.  There was great rejoicing.  Bob told me he had looked all through the car and I had, too.  We could not figure out how we missed finding him, but it reminded me how God provides for us in our sadness and how it is more blessed to give than to receive.  The night before, Manning had been happy to make his brother happy.  That Sunday morning we all were excited to find what had been lost.  I can’t help but wonder if God orchestrated the whole chain of events.  If there is no suffering, there is no opportunity for mercy and comfort.  Without the gift of mercy and comfort we don’t remember to be thankful.  This is too marvelous for words – even on this level.  I’m so thankful to God that I was there with those sweet boys to witness the entire exchange.

I have had lost things turn up in such mysterious ways that I wondered if God arranged it.  How about you?  Have you ever wondered if God sent angels to do the unexplainable in your life?

Responses

  1. Nice one Bonnie !!

    • Thanks, Mog. Tell Michael happy birthday from me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

