Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 7, 2012

Sunrise, Sunset

Yesterday we had a wonderful day going coast to coast down here in Florida.  As I reported in my last entry, we got up early but missed the actual sun rising over the Atlantic, though there was extensive evidence that it did rise.  We weren’t too bummed about it.  It’s not like it probably wasn’t going to rise again, and we had our drive across the state to look forward to, especially watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico.

Around 6:30 PM we headed to the Columbia Restaurant in the trendy St. Armands Circle area of Sarasota and enjoyed a lovely dinner with our son, Joe, and his wife Aubyron.  We had a 30 minute wait for a table and then for some unknown and definitely not well thought out reason, Bob and I ordered the paella, which was also a 30 minute wait.  It was and was not worth waiting for.  The restaurant was pretty packed and as our evening progressed I noticed our waitress had slowed down her visits to our table.  We finished our meals and I was ready to proceed to our 8:29 appointment on Lido Beach for sunset.  Still no waitress.  I started getting a little antsy, so Bob sent Aubyron and I on ahead to the beach.  We arrived at approximately 8:32, just in time to see people leaving the area.  (This is the point where the paella was not worth waiting for.)

Always being one to be sure of things, I asked a group of teenage boys if the sun had set.  They mumbled something that sounded like yes.  So it looked like we missed the two big sun events of the day.  Again, we assured ourselves that the sun must have set because people were leaving the beach.  And it was getting noticeably darker.  Pretty sound evidence.  So here’s my picture of just after the sunset.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

The sun set quickly in the west, too quickly

Responses

  1. Still a beautiful picture. How was Alligator Alley?

    • It was a nice drive. We pulled over at a vista and saw three gators in the water. Fun doing something we’ve never done before.

  2. This reminds me of a drive I took down Pacific Highway 1. We wanted to catch the flash of green fire that happens when the sun hits the water. Yep. we were in the trees too long and missed it. 😀 Sometimes I have to remind myself that the journey is the adventure, darn it.

    • Ha, ha. I agree. The planning is also part of the adventure. I never heard of the flash of green fire. I hope you get to see it someday, me too for that matter. Thanks for stopping at my blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

