Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 8, 2012

Looking for a Sign

I’M AWESOME

If you had to put a bumper sticker on your vehicle that described you, what would it say?  We were driving down the road the other day and I saw a truck zoom by with huge letters declaring “I’M AWESOME.”  This guy was not satisfied with a simple sticker on his bumper or widow.  No, he wanted the world to know just how awesome he is.  I wish he didn’t drive by so quickly so I could have gotten a better shot, but you get the idea.

While on vacation we stopped at a gorgeous beach on the Gulf of Mexico – Bradenton Beach.  The water was Caribbean blue/green and was so inviting.  Evidently so inviting that signs had to be installed to warn people to stay out of certain areas, I’m sure for their own safety.  I have to assume that the signs are seen.  I saw them and I’m certainly not the world’s most observant person, but then again I am a sign reader – I guess that’s part of my legalistic tendency.  I figure somebody took the trouble to warn or inform about something, so it’s the least I can do to read what they posted.  But a lot of folks just can’t resist doing what looks so good to them.

Notice the sign doesn’t say “No Swimming.” That would leave it open to a judgment call of what constitutes swimming.

And this cautious parent isn’t the only sign defier.

Such is the state of life at the beach.  The water beckons, somebody has to answer.

Next there is the sign that had to be installed because somebody did something stupid.  In this instance it was probably somebody pretty tall.

You know someone staying in this hotel had to have figured this was a brilliant place to hang their clothes until they pulled off the sprinkler head and drenched the room.

How about you?  Are you a sign reader or a sign defier?

Responses

  1. I have to admit, I am a sign reader! I don’t often defy, but I also have to admit. once in a while I do defy!! I wonder what’s in the water!! Love the I’m awesome sign!!

    • I’m like you. Sometimes I wish I didn’t read the signs because then I wouldn’t have the guilt! We figured the water was too close to a bridge in this area. You only had to move down several yards and then you could swim, but it was very inviting looking. Thanks for your comments.

  2. Haha! A sticker on his “widow.” She must have been so upset she killed him?

    • Oops! Maybe having stickers on widows would be a good idea – especially I’m awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

