Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | May 1, 2012

Please Read This Yesterday

In case there isn’t enough to be stressed about, I just found out that April is National Stress Awareness Month.  I’m writing this on April 30 so by the time you read it, April will be over and we will all be forced to go back to not being aware of our stress for another eleven months.  I’m sorry to let you down by not getting this all important piece of information to you sooner.  For my part, as soon as I heard what April was being devoted to I decided to join in the celebration and make a concerted effort to be more aware of my stress, even though I only had a meager portion of a 24-hour period in which to do that.  It was all I could do.  That just stressed me further.

Who should one turn to in times of stress?  Apparently, according to my Google search, the answer is the U.S. Government, specifically the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  They have an entire page devoted to helping combat stress.

I did not feel any less stressed when I realized that the Government wanted to help me here, especially since dealing with any government agency seems to only raise my stress level.  I scanned the article, and the most prominent part of it was designed to teach the reader how to meditate.  The whole thing aggravated me, thereby stressing me all the more.

So my last day of April was a bit of a bust.  I decided with all the stress I was under with the thought of tax dollars going to help me meditate and the knowledge that May was coming and I’d have to get my license renewed, I should just call it a day and go get a pedicure.  Of course, I did have to choose a color, and you know how stressful that can be, but I managed.

* * * * *

Better to live by Jesus’ words – John 14:1 – “Do not let your hearts be troubled.  Trust in God; trust also in me.”

 


Responses

  1. Haha! So glad I missed the stress-focused awareness. Great post again, Bonnie!

  2. And, therein lies one of the primary causes of stress- realizing one is behind in one’s plans and trying to catch up. So, my suggestion, Bonnie, is to chill out, and realize you now have 11 months to plan for NEXT YEAR’s national stress month. You have plenty of time!

    • Good idea, Roy. My life is pretty low stress at this point, thankfully. Hope you are doing well.


Leave a comment

Categories