Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | September 13, 2011

You Will Meet a Man Wielding Knives – Don’t Make Him Mad

When I discovered that today was a holiday (Fortune Cookie Day), I realized I had to stop the presses and interrupt my creative flow to pay tribute.  So – Happy Fortune Cookie Day!  How will you celebrate?

As usual I did a fair (meaning very small) amount of investigation into this big day.  First I stopped at Party City to find appropriate decorations.  There were none.  Then I checked with the Post Office to see if my mail service would be interrupted – probably not a good idea because now I may be on some “watch list” there.  Next stop was the Hallmark Store so I could send out my Fortune Cookie Day greeting cards.  As you may have guessed by now, I’ve had a pretty disappointing morning.

By lunch time I was hungry and a little bit desperate to find another FCD celebrator so I stopped in at my favorite Chinese Restaurant for a little information and Lo Mein.  This was fruitless as well and I’ll tell you why.

  1. Shockingly, the hostess didn’t even know about this major event.  I suggested she may want to do a little research herself and at the very least give everyone a free fortune cookie with each meal.  I don’t think she really understood me as she looked a little confused by my comment.
  2. More “googling” on my oh-so-smart phone revealed this disconcerting fact – there is a debate over who really introduced fortune cookies – was it the Japanese or Chinese?

With this information in hand I went to the closest Japanese Steak House but I was afraid to bring up the debate to a man who was wielding knives better than I can twirl spaghetti.  So I retreated to my home.

Here is what I really want you to take away from today’s lesson – a morsel of wisdom, if you will:  Fortune Cookies do not tell your fortune.  Maybe once upon a time way back in the early 1900’s when they first appeared in California they did, but not today.  Here is a sampling of my recent findings:

  • You find beauty in ordinary things (not a fortune)
  • You have a deep appreciation of the arts and music (also not a fortune)
  • A friend is a present you give yourself (thanks for the info)
  • You are talented in many ways (true, but again not a fortune)

So here are words I would suggest for fortune cookies:

  • Ignore the numbers on the back of this paper; you will not win the lottery
  • You will be hungry again in two hours
  • You will meet a man wielding knives, do not anger him

These are words that will guide me through my day.

Thanks to http://theromanticvineyard.com/ for bringing this and so many wonderful celebrations to my attention.  You are a wonderful resource for marriage and date planning.

Responses

  1. You know how glad i am now! I don’t each Chinese! So, I’ll never have to follow this path!


Leave a Reply

Categories

