Posted by: Bonnie Anderson | July 10, 2012

Confessions of a Movie Snob

Once upon a time while we were on vacation we decided to go to the movies.  We usually look for an AMC theater as we like to keep all our points in one place.  (In case I haven’t told you before, Bob really likes accruing points.)

I set the GPS for an AMC.  Bob thought the route it displayed wasn’t going to be the best one, so we followed an alternate.  My job – read the directions (and I am an excellent reader).  I didn’t deviate from the displayed route (honest) and it took us winding through a residential area, up and down streets like you’d find in Anywhere, U.S.A.  Finally we ended up at our destination, according to the GPS.  It said we arrived but what it did not say was that we would have to illegally park the car and hop a six-foot fence.

So we wandered around the neighborhood which was set up in an anti-grid that eventually led us to a place that was not the AMC.

Let’s try again.  Come on GPS.  Edit route.  Search.  Wander back through the same neighborhood and end up next to the same fence.  Curse you GPS!  You have foiled us again.

At long last we maneuvered correctly and arrived in front of the AMC.  Now we were rushed – too rushed to question that the price of the movie was a bit of a bargain.  Bob bought the popcorn and I went in to get our seats.  This is the part of the post that reveals what a movie snob I am.  I opened the door of the theater and as my eyes adjusted to the dim light I beheld the worst of movie fates – no stadium seats!  To add to my dismay, I’m not even sure it was digitally displayed.  I ended up having to wear my glasses, which I never do in the movies.  Oh the humanity!

We acquiesced and settled in to watch Snow White and the Huntsman.  The first third of it was pretty dark, fairly well matching my mood at this point.  A bit further into the movie I whispered to Bob, “If some dwarfs don’t show up pretty soon, there’s no saving this for me.”

Right on cue, enter the dwarfs!  I know!  Once again the dwarfs saved the day.  It was a little thing (actually seven little things) but it made all the difference.


Responses

  1. I am with you. I don’t mean to be a snob for the movie experience but I am.

    • Thanks for commenting. It’s nice getting to know you. I’m enjoying your blog.


Leave a comment

Categories